Frozen - Full Cast Announced

Frozen - Full Cast Announced

As it approaches its Australian premiere in Sydney in July, the remainder of the performers who will join Jemma Rix (Elsa) and Courtney Monsma (Anna) in the Australian production of Disney’s Frozen have been announced.

Matt Lee will play Olaf, the beloved snowman. Matt has numerous musical theatre, dance, choreography, film and TV credits to his name. Previously starring as Bert in Disney and Cameron Mackintosh’s production of Mary Poppins for which he won the Helpmann Award for Best Actor, Matt has been seen on the small screen as a Logie nominated judge on So You Think You Can Dance Australia and was also motion capture principal in the Oscar winning film Happy Feet, in which he brought the loveable tap dancing penguin Mumble to life.

Thomas McGuane, a graduate of the Victorian College of the Arts (VCA), will step into the role of Hans. Thomas most recently played the role of Bob Gaudio in the Australian tour of Jersey Boys.

Kristoff will be played by Australian Institute of Music graduate Sean Sinclair. Sean is a member of The Tap Pack, and was most recently seen in Disney’s Aladdin, where he understudied the roles of Aladdin and Babkak. He was also a Swing and Dance Captain in the Australian production of Beautiful: The Carole King Musical.

NIDA graduate and three-time Green Room Award nominee Aljin Abella will play Weselton. Jonathan MacMillan and Lachlan McIntyre will share the role of Sven.

Sharing the role of Young Elsa will be Deeana Cheong Foo, Amelia Heaven, Sara Petrovski and Lucy Famborough.

Sharing the role of Young Anna will be Chloe Delle-Vedove, Faith Hedley, Sabrina Franco and Sienna Kann.

Also joining the cast also are Jakob Ambrose, Justin Anderson, Tanika Anderson, Blake Appelqvist, Sage Douglas, Nicholas Eaton, Mitchell Fistrovic, Joti Gore, Samm Hagen, Jayme-Lee Hanekom, Kimberley Hodgson, Todd Jacobsson, Jessica Kane, Andrew Kroenert, Jordan Malone, Hayley Martin, Adele Parkinson, Liam Peel, Anthony Sheppard, Thalia Smith, Sophie Weiss and Brendan Xavier.

Based on the 2013 film written by a trio of Oscar® winners, Frozen features music and lyrics by the creators of the film score Kristen Anderson-Lopez (In Transit, Coco, Frozen 2) and EGOT-winner Robert Lopez (The Book of Mormon, Coco, Frozen 2) and a book by Jennifer Lee (Zootopia, Wreck-It Ralph, Frozen 2), the film’s screenwriter and director (with Chris Buck). Frozenwon 2014 Oscars for Best Song (“Let It Go”) and Best Animated Feature.

Frozen’s director is Michael Grandage, a Tony Award® winner (Red) and director of three Olivier Award-winning Outstanding Musicals (Merrily We Roll Along, Grand Hotel and Guys and Dolls), and choreographed by Tony Award winner and multiple Tony and Olivier Award nominee Rob Ashford (Thoroughly Modern Millie, How to Succeed..., Evita).

Frozen opened on Broadway on March 22, 2018 and has set and broken four St. James Theatre house records. At the time of opening it held the record for the largest advance ticket sales in Broadway history.

The design team for Frozen includes scenic and costume design by two-time Tony and Olivier Award winner Christopher Oram (Wolf Hall Parts 1 & 2, The Cripple of Inishmaan, Evita), lighting design by six-time Tony Award winner Natasha Katz (Aladdin, Hello Dolly! and the upcoming The Music Man starring Hugh Jackman) sound design by seven-time Tony nominee Peter Hylenski (Motown; Beetlejuice; Moulin Rouge!), video design by Tony winner Finn Ross (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Jagged Little Pill), puppet design by Michael Curry (The Lion King, Spamalot, Beetlejuice), hair design by David Brian Brown (Dear Evan Hansen; Moulin Rouge!; Mrs. Doubtfire), makeup design by Anne Ford-Coates (On Your Feet!, Oklahoma!) and special effects design by Jeremy Chernick (Aladdin, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, West Side Story).

Two-time Tony Award winner Stephen Oremus (Wicked, The Book of Mormon, Kinky Boots) is music supervisor and creates vocal, incidental and dance arrangements. He is joined on the music team by Tony nominee Dave Metzger (orchestrations), Chris Montan (executive music producer) and David Chase (additional dance arrangements).

Performances from 7 July 2020
Capitol Theatre, Sydney
Book at or 1300 558 878.
Groups 12+ call 1300 889 278 or
In person at the Capitol Theatre Box Office or any Ticketmaster outlet. Tickets from $49.50 - $199.50*
*Handling fee of $8.95 applies



Images from the Broadway production of Frozen by Deen van Meer.

To keep up with the latest news and reviews at Stage Whispers, click here to like us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter.