Jersey Boys Big Green Room Winner

Jersey Boys Big Green Room Winner

Jersey Boys was the most awarded production at Melbourne’s Green Room Awards on Monday March 15, 2010, taking out seven awards.

Jersey Boys was recognised for Best Production, Direction (Des McAnuff), Musical Direction (Luke Hunter), Choreography (Sergio Trujillo), Costume and /or Set Design (Klara Zieglerova for scenic design), Lighting Design (Howell Binkley) and Sound Design (Steve Canyon Kennedy).
Other musical theatre awards went to Esther Hannaford (Female Artist in a Leading Role for Amy in Once We Lived Here), Matt Hetherington (Male Artist in A Leading for Freddy Benson in Dirty Rotten Scoundrels), Luke Joslin (Artist in a Featured Role for Nikki / Trekkie Monster in Avenue Q), and the Male Ensemble in Chicago (Featured Ensemble or Full Ensemble Performance).
Bryant and Frank Productions' Once We Lived Here was recognized as Best New Australian Musical.

Melbourne Theatre Company was the big winner in Theatre Company category, where its production of August: Osage County and co-production with Brink Productions of When the Rain Stops Falling took out six of the nine awards. When the Rain Stops Falling won for Best Production, Set Design (Hossein Valamanesh) and Lighting Design (Niklas Pajanti). August: Osage County was recognized for Best Director (Simon Phillips), Female Performer (Robyn Nevin) and Female Supporting Performer (Rebekah Stone).
Mark Jones was recognized as Male Performer (Goodbye Vaudeville Charlie Mudd - Malthouse Theatre/Arena Theatre Company) and Ashley Zukerman as Male Supporting Performer (B.C. - FULL TILT at the Arts Centre in association with The Hayloft Project). Mark Jones & Jethro Woodward won the award for Composition / Sound Design (Goodbye Vaudeville Charlie Mudd - Malthouse Theatre/Arena Theatre Company).

When the Rain Stops Falling also won the Green Room Association Award for New Writing for the Australian Stage.

In the Theatre – Alternative and Hybrid Performance category, en route (bettybooke) took out awards for Production and Creative Collaboration. Lawn (Splintergroup – Malthouse Theatre in Association with Arts House presents a Brisbane Powerhouse and Dancenorth Production) was recognized for both Composition and/or Sound Design and Set and/or Costume Design. Lawn was also recognised in the Dance category.

In the Independent Theatre category, winner for Prouction Alice in Wonderland (Four Larks Theatre) also received the Ensemble award. Progress and Melancholy (Bagryana Popov presented by fortyfivedownstairs) was recognized for Direction, Male Performer and Lighting Design. Helen Morse took out the independent Female Performer award in Prophet and Loss (Creative Ministries Network, Centre for Theology & Ministry and Here Theatre). Best New Venue was The Dog Theatre.

Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk led Opera Australia’s domination of the Opera awards with six gongs - Best Production, Director, Female in a Leading Role, Conductor, Set and Costume Design and Lighting Design. A Streetcar Named Desire took out two further awards for male and female supporting roles. Tobias Cole, Best Male in a Leading Role in Victorian Opera's Xerxes, and Best New Australian Opera (Rembrandt’s Wife Victorian Opera) prevented a clean sweep.

In Dance Splintergroup was the big winner, with Roadkill and Lawn claiming four awards between them - Concept & Realisation, Male Dancer, Dance Ensemble and Design.

Best Cabaret Production went to Songs from the 86 Tram (The Bedroom Philosopher). Tim Minchin took out Cabaret awards for Artiste and Original Songs (Ready For This). The Suitcase Royale was recognised for Innovative Use of Form and Ensemble (Space Show).

Image: Jersey Boys (Photo: Jeff Busby)

To keep up with the latest news and reviews at Stage Whispers, click here to like us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter.